The Fifteen Mysteries (Paekakariki, Canterbury, Makorori)

Peter Ireland, Artist

This is one of the paintings in our collection. It was made in 1987-1988. The place where it was made is unknown.
See full details

Object Detail

About the Work
This work is part of a larger series called The Mysteries. "The system of prayer known as the rosary includes a set of 15 meditations, in 2 separate cycles, known as the Mysteries: the Joyful, the Sorrowful, and the Glorious, each having 5 episodes relating to the lives of Jesus Christ and the Virgin Mary, events drawn either from the gospels or from traditions of belief.
The Joyful Mysteries are named thus because each episode was a cause of joy to the Virgin Mary.
The Sorrowful Mysteries are episodes from the final hours of the life of Jesus Christ, episodes differing slightly from those covered by The Stations.
And the Glorious Mysetries relate to triumphal events after the death of Christ, such as the Resurrection." Artist notes regarding the context of the series title, exhibition catalogue 'Stations & Mysteries, Peter Ireland' Manawatu Art Gallery 3 Dec 1987 - 28 Feb 1988
Overall dimensions: 2200 x 1400 mm
2 vertical panels: 1400 x 280 mm each
Centre horizontal panel: 280 x 1400 mm
oil on bisonboard
Three part work: 2 vertical panels with horizontal panel in between (shape of an H) with predominantly blue scenes, occasional red, showing seascapes and structures on the land.
Credit Line
Collection of the Sarjeant Gallery Te Whare o Rehua Whanganui. Gift of Don Lawson, 2015.
Collection Type
Permanent collection
Acquisition Date
09 Dec 2015



Accession Number:

Subject Auto Tags